Hong Kong enters three-day mourning for ferry tragedy victims


Hong Kong goes into three days of mourning today (October 4) for the 38 people killed in the ferry disaster.

Chief Executive Leung Chun-ying and other principal officials will observe three minutes of silence outside government headquarters in Admiralty at noon.

Government services except immigration and emergency services will stop during that time so that staff can observe the silent tribute. Flags on all government buildings will be flown at half-mast for three days.

The government has set up condolence points in all 18 districts – mostly in community halls – for the public to mourn the victims of Monday night’s tragedy. People can sign condolence books there from 1pm to 9pm today, and from 9am to 9pm tomorrow and on Saturday.



Condolence points where the public can mourn ferry crash victims will be open from 1pm to 9pm today, and from 9am to 9pm tomorrow and Saturday.

Central and Western: Lift lobby, G/F, Kennedy Town Community Complex, 12 Rock Hill Street, Kennedy Town

Wan Chai: Leighton Hill Community Hall, 133 Wong Nai Chung Road, Happy Valley

Eastern: Quarry Bay Community Hall, G/F, Quarry Bay Community Complex, 1 Greig Road, Quarry Bay

Southern: Ap Lei Chau Community Hall, Ap Lei Chau Estate, Ap Lei Chau

Kowloon City: To Kwa Wan Kaifong Welfare Association, 56 Kowloon City Rd, Tok Kwa Wan

Kwun Tong: Lam Tin (East) Community Hall, 2/F, Lam Tin Community Complex,223 Pik Wan Road, Lam Tin

Sham Shui Po: Lai Kok Community Hall, Lai Kok Estate, Cheung Sha Wan

Wong Tai Sin: Wong Tai Sin Community Centre, 104, Ching Tak Street, Wong Tai Sin

Yau Tsim Mong: Mong Kok Community Hall, L2, Mong Kok Complex, 557 Shanghai Street, Mong Kok

Islands: Tung Chung Community Hall, G/F, Tung Chung Municipal Services Building, 39 Man Tung Road, Tung Chung

Kwai Tsing: Kwai Fong Community Hall, 2 Lai Fong Street, Kwai Chung

North: Luen Wo Hui Community Hall, G/F, 9 Wo Mun Street, Luen Wo Hui, Fanling

Sai Kung: Hang Hau Community Hall, G/F, Sai Kung Tseung Kwan O Government Complex, 38 Pui Shing Road, Hang Hau, Tseung Kwan O

Sha Tin: G/F, Sha Tin Government Offices, 1 Sheung Wo Che Road, Sha Tin

Tai Po: Exhibition Hall, Tai Po Community Centre, 2 Heung Sze Wui Street, Tai Po

Tsuen Wan: G/F, Princess Alexandra Community Centre, 60 Tai Ho Road, Tsuen Wan

Tuen Mun: On Ting / Yau Oi Community Centre, On Ting Estate, Tuen Mun

Yuen Long: Yuen Long District Office, G/F, Yuen Long District Office Building, 69 Castle Peak Road, Yuen Long


by Phila Siu

South China Morning Post

See also: The Orthodox Metropolitanate of Hong Kong and South East Asia offers Prayer for the victims